Winners of RIBA Awards 2005 and RIBA Worldwide Awards announced (UK)

Seventy one new buildings across the UK and the EU have been rewarded with RIBA Awards for their high architectural standards and their contribution to their local environment.

Projects selected for their design excellence range in size and use from the Scottish Parliament building in Edinburgh, the Millau Viaduct in France to a mud house in Worcester. Projects by Zaha Hadid Architects, the Richard Rogers Partnership, Sarah Wigglesworth Architects, Richard Murphy Architects, and Foster and Partners are amongst the winners. The awards were announced on 17 June, at a dinner in London at the Hilton Hotel marking the start of Architecture Week 2005 (17-26 June).

The 71 RIBA Award winners will form the long-list for the 10th anniversary RIBA Stirling Prize in association with The Architects' Journal, which Channel 4 will broadcast for the sixth year running on Channel 4 on Saturday 15 October 2005.

During the RIBA Awards event, seven additional buildings from around the world received an RIBA Worldwide Award. These awards, sponsored by Monodraught and supported by The Architectural Review, being presented for the second time recognise significant international projects by RIBA members.

Speaking at the awards dinner RIBA President George Ferguson said: "The RIBA Awards process has come up trumps again, recognising a remarkable selection of buildings from almost every sector. I am particularly delighted to see a record number of buildings designed for children, including three ground-breaking nurseries, two highly innovative nursery/children's centres and an unusual and highly popular playground. There is, I am pleased to say, a greater recognition for conservation with the best examples being recognized by RIBA Conservation Awards: the preservation of Charles Rennie Mackintosh's house in Northampton, the Isokon apartments in Hampstead and the fine transformation of the Peter Jones store on Sloane Square. It is so clear that good architecture impacts on people's lives, and these awards are a vitally important part of the continuous process of raising standards. We all look forward to seeing how this great range of buildings fares in the RIBA Stirling Prize stakes, to be televised live on Channel 4 in October. It is quite clear that it will be another thrilling year."

Jonathan Stock, Publishing Director of The Architects' Journal added: "The AJ is committed to promoting good architecture. As the UK's premiere award for architecture, the RIBA Stirling Prize, enters its 10th anniversary year, we are delighted to continue our support for the RIBA Awards, and the RIBA Stirling Prize itself. The awards have been critical in setting an international benchmark for design quality that is respected the world over."

The full list of RIBA Award-winners follows:

1. A'Chrannag, Rothesay, Isle of Bute - G. Deveci Chartered Architect
2. The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh - EMBT / RMJM Ltd
3. Sentinel Office Development, Glasgow - Gordon Murray and Alan Dunlop Architects

Northern Ireland
4. Falls Leisure Centre, Belfast - Kennedy FitzGerald & Associates
5. Kinnaird Street Office, Belfast - Mackel & Doherty Architects

North West
6. The Jerwood Centre, Grasmere - Benson + Forsyth/Napper Architects
7. The Brindley Arts Centre, Runcorn - John Miller + Partners
8. 31 Blackfriars Road, Salford - OMI Architects
9. Private House, Allerton, Liverpool - Shed KM

10. The Sage Gateshead - Foster and Partners
11. The Performance Academy, Newcastle College, Newcastle upon Tyne - RMJM

12 Classroom of the Future, Mossbrook School, Norton, Sheffield S8 -
Sarah Wigglesworth Architects
13 Longley Park Sixth Form College, Horninglow Rd, Sheffield S5 -
Ellis Williams Architects

14. Creative Enterprise Centre, Caernarfon - Richard Murphy Architects
15. Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff - Capita Percy Thomas

West Midlands
16. Sure Start Tamworth - Sjölander da Cruz Architects
17. Cobtun Hous

Related News