Hammerson CEO David Atkins appointed EPRA Chairman (BE)

David Atkins, Chief Executive Officer of UK property company Hammerson, has been appointed as Chairman of the European Public Real Estate Association (EPRA).

Speaking at the industry body's annual conference on Thursday (September 1, 2011), he said that the key role listed property firms play in European economies mean they are vital to a sustainable economic recovery.

David Atkins, Chairman of EPRA said: "Property lies at the heart of the real economy –through the delivery and financing of real estate, providing significant investment in the regeneration of major cities across Europe and facilitating employment and business growth.

"Listed real estate is the most liquid and transparent way of accessing this market and it is vital that EPRA and the industry work closely with government and regulators in finding solutions that contribute to a sound and sustainable economic recovery."

Atkins (45) takes over as EPRA Chairman for two years from Guillaume Poitrinal, CEO of Europe's largest listed real estate company Unibail-Rodamco. He was appointed as Hammerson's Chief Executive in October, 2009, after previously working as UK MD for the company.

Philip Charls, CEO of EPRA said: "I would like to thank Guillaume for providing me with fantastic support over the past two years and welcome David Atkins as our new Chairman.

"EPRA certainly has a full agenda ahead in attracting more investor capital flows into the industry and boosting growth in European real estate stocks. The quoted sector in Europe is proportionally a smaller part of the overall property investment market than in any of the other major regions of the world. That is our target to change."

In addition to the appointment of David Atkins, there have been a number of changes to EPRA's Executive Board and Board of Directors detailed below:

Executive board
David Atkins, Hammerson (new Chairman)
Patrick Kanters, APG (joining)
David Sleath, Segro (joining)
John Carrafiell, Green Oak (leaving)
Ian Coull, Segro (leaving)
Serge Fautre, Cofinimmo (leaving)

Board of Directors
Olivier Piani, Allianz (joining)
Charles Saiag, BNP Paribas (joining)
Ulrich Höller, DIC Asset AG (joining)
Chris Turner, Thames River Capital (leaving)
Patrick Kanters, APG (leaving)

Source: Bellier Financial

Related News